Home Events JD Falk Award

Nominations for the October 2021 award must be submitted by August 10, 2021 using the form below.

No award presented in 2020.

View the videos of previous recipients and their exceptional projects that have helped create a safer Internet for all of us.

Please use the form below for award submissions.

The M3AAWG J.D. Falk Award seeks to recognize people who are committed to making a better online world.  Nominees will have demonstrated dedication to improving the Internet experience and protecting end-users.

The award seeks to recognize efforts for a particularly meritorious item of work rather than recognizing a lifetime of achievement. (The M3AAWG Mary Litynsky Award honors lifetime achievement.)

Examples of worthy accomplishments to be considered for the J.D. Falk Award include developing a service, authoring a specification or related documentation, inventing a security mechanism or other technology, mentoring a community, or pursuing notable research. The work can be in an academic or corporate context and can be an individual, group or institutional effort.  Simply put, M3AAWG wants to recognize cool work that reduces online abuse and improves the Internet.

The recipient must also embody the spirit of J.D.'s volunteerism and community building. The J.D. Falk Award winners have a vigilant eye on the broader perspective of Internet systems and communities and call upon thoughtful humor when things get tough.

The general public can submit nominations from the online anti-abuse community at large by completing the form below.  The award includes an honorarium underwritten by J.D.’s employer, Return Path Inc., now Validity, Inc.  M3AAWG will also sponsor the winning candidate's attendance at a M3AAWG General Meeting where the award will be presented.

(independent consultants or researchers are acceptable)
Enter the characters shown in the image.