Home Leadership

M3AAWG represents more than one billion mailboxes from some of the largest network operators worldwide. The Messaging, Malware and Mobile Anti-Abuse Working Group is where the messaging industry comes together to work against bots, malware, spam, viruses, denial-of-service attacks and other online exploitation. It leverages the depth and experience of its global membership to tackle abuse on existing networks and new emerging services through technology, collaboration and public policy.  M3AAWG also educates global policy makers on the technical and operational issues related to online abuse and messaging.  The organization is driven by market needs and supported by major network operators and messaging providers.

M3AAWG Leadership

Amy Cadagin, M3AAWG Executive Director

Amy Cadagin is M3AAWG's Executive Director. Amy was previously the Director of Operations and has been with M3AAWG since 2006—not long after the organization was started. Amy began as a Program Manager working with Committee Chairs ahead of each general meeting developing sessions, keeping track of work as it evolved and developed, helping facilitate dialogue between the various constituencies and ensuring that the work of M3AAWG happened smoothly. Amy has managed the organization's logistics and implemented numerous process improvements that have directly contributed to the organization's growth and success. Amy is a champion and advocate for diversity and inclusion within M3AAWG and the industry at large

Severin Walker, M3AAWG Board Co-Chair (Comcast)

Severin Walker has over 15 years of experience in the areas of messaging security and incident response at Comcast. Mr. Walker has worked on several initiatives to better the customer experience as well as contribute to a more secure internet. His current team of engineers develop and maintain platforms that enforce best practices and protect their customers from attacks. At M3AAWG, Mr. Walker has presented on topics such as delivery over IPv6 and mailbox provider policies. He eventually went on to chair the M3AAWG Messaging and Technical committees, learning from the organization’s founding members while facilitating contributions from newer attendees. Mr. Walker believes M3AAWG to be an integral part of the internet's security as it provides a vetted and confidential space for hundreds of subject matter experts to collaborate.

Dennis Dayman, M3AAWG Vice ChairpersonJanet Jones, M3AAWG Board Co-Chair (Microsoft)

Janet Jones became involved with M3AAWG in 2014 to help the industry solve complex security problems surrounding non-consensual pervasive monitoring of email, voice and other network traffic. In addition to her position as Vice Chair, Mrs. Jones currently serves as Co-Chair of the Data and Identity Protection Committee, actively contributing to industry best practices and protocols for implementing measures that protect operational security and customer privacy. (See the video Protecting Users: An Update from the M3AAWG Pervasive Monitoring SIG.) She also leads the Diversity & Inclusion group within M3AAWG. With more than 20 years of experience, Mrs. Jones brings to M3AAWG an extensive background in technology, security and messaging. She led deployments and supported Microsoft’s first worldwide cloud messaging implementations and currently works in Microsoft’s Customer Security and Trust Engineering organization as a senior security program manager driving initiatives for their Secure Development Lifecycle and Operational Security Assurance programs. Mrs. Jones also participates in several other industry organization’s initiatives that work toward securing messaging and data privacy.

Sam Silberman, M3AAWG Treasurer (Endurance International Group)

Sam Silberman has more than 25 years of experience in email software development, combating spam, and improving email delivery through industry policy and technical solutions. His current activities involve research in blocking bad actors from using internet services and supporting the latest efforts to create standards and best practices to combat such abuse. Mr. Silberman joined M3AAWG in 2005 as a founding member, was elected to the Board of Directors in 2011 and was elected Treasurer 2014.

Jerry Upton, M3AAWG Executive Director Emeritus

Jerry Upton has served as M3AAWG Executive Director since the organization's founding in 2004. Previously, in his more than twenty years experience at Motorola, he held executive positions in standards, software and mobile phone products, alliance management and business development. Mr. Upton was also the founding Chairman of the Open Mobile Alliance, a mobile standardization forum, and a past TIA Engineering Committee Chair.


Michael O'Reirdan, M3AAWG Board Member and Chairm EmeritusMichael O’Reirdan, M3AAWG Chairman Emeritus

Michael O’Reirdan is Chairman Emeritus after serving five terms as chairman of the Messaging, Malware and Mobile Anti-Abuse Working Group, the industry’s largest global trade association working against messaging bots, spam, viruses, denial-of-service attacks and other online exploitation.  Previously, he was key in developing the organization’s Internet Service Providers Closed Colloquium, a M3AAWG committee of international network operators.  Professionally, Mr. O’Reirdan served as a Comcast Engineering Fellow with over 20 years of experience in the ISP field and with public facing messaging platforms.  He chaired the U.S. Federal Communications Commission’s CSRIC III Working Group #7 that produced the first U.S. voluntary industry code to help reduce end-user bots (ABCs for ISPs), has served on executive advisory boards for several major computer vendors, and is active in other industry organizations. (Also see the videos Why the Industry Needs the ABCs for ISPs and Quantifying Consumer Bot Infections:The M3AAWG Bot Metrics Report.)


Chris Roosenraad, M3AAWG Board Member and Chairperson Emertius Chris Roosenraad, Chairperson Emeritus

After serving three terms as M3AAWG Chairperson, Chris Roosenraad maintains an active role in the organization as Chairperson Emeritus.  He has also served multiple terms as vice chairman, chair of the program committee, chair of the technical committee, and chair of the public policy committee.  Mr. Roosenraad is currently a director at NeuStar, running the UltraDNS product line.  Mr. Roosenraad has over 18 years of ISP experience having worked for carriers in the U.S., Europe and Asia. He has been involved in various computer vendor advisory boards and is active in other industry organizations. (See the video Learning from the Past to Protect the Future where he talks about the internet of things, self-driving cars and other emerging topics.)


The M3AAWG Senior Advisors also assist the committees in their work and share their expertise at M3AAWG meetings.

Journalists and industry analysts, for more information please contact: pr@m3aawg.org

For all non-media related inquiries, please use our Contact Us form.