Home Events M3AAWG Mary Litynski Award Recipients

2020 - Christine Hoepers

The Messaging, Malware and Mobile Anti-Abuse Working Group (M3AAWG), awarded Cristine Hoepers, Ph.D., the general manager of CERT.br, the Brazilian national Computer Emergency Response Team, with the annual Mary Litynski Award. The award, now in its tenth year, honors the memory of the woman who helped shape M3AAWG into the leading organization dedicated to fighting online abuse such as malware, DDoS attacks, election security attacks, and more.

Dr. Hoepers has been general manager of CERT.br, which is maintained by the non-profit Brazilian Network Information Center (NIC.br) since 1999. Her work in incident management, Internet best practices development, and information security training has reduced online abuse in Brazil and across Latin America, and increased Internet resilience. From 2005 to 2013, she led the technical coordination of anti-spam efforts in Brazil, with a focus on minimizing the abuse of open proxies and open relays, as well as reducing direct delivery via botnets. Dr. Hoepers also researches the use of honeypot technology to better understand attackers’ tools and behavior. She earned her Ph.D. in applied computing at the National Institute for Space Research in São José dos Campos, SP, Brazil.

“A lesson learned from more than 20 years of fighting email spam globally is that the industries have to recognize and own the problem, as any new technology or service has the potential to be abused,” said Dr. Hoepers. “We are already seeing several forms of abuse starting in other platforms and services, and those industries should be proactive—only the criminals gain if one tries to deny there is a problem. M3AAWG is a key player, with not only the technical expertise of its members, but with the ability to reach these industries and engage them in the fight.”

"M3AAWG is honored to recognize Dr. Hoepers for her wide-ranging contributions to fighting Internet abuse in Brazil and beyond,” said Amy Cadagin, executive director of M3AAWG. "Her dedication to research, best practices, and educating users—from government entities, to major corporations, to the public—has helped make the online environment safer for all."

Presented February 18, 2020 at the M3AAWG 48th General Meeting in San Francisco.  See the news release for details.  M3AAWG published an additionl Q&A blog with Christine, see that here.


2019 - Dave Piscitello

As a young security consultant, Dave Piscitello wondered, “how do these guys get away with all this spam and malware?” which led him to take on the challenging work of persuading the online ecosystem to address DNS abuse and related issues through his years at ICANN and in his involvement with other industry associations. Acknowledging the range and significance of these efforts, the Messaging, Malware and Mobile Anti-Abuse Working Group presented the 2019 M3AAWG Mary Litynski Award to Piscitello at the M3AAWG 45th General Meeting on February 19 in San Francisco.

Presented February 19, 2020 at the M3AAWG 45th General Meeting in San Francisco.  See the news release for details.




2018 - Dave Rand

Co-Founder, MAPS  –  Also: AboveNet, Kelkea, PC532, EtherValve, CEF and MRTG/

Presented February 20, 2018 at the M3AAWG 42nd General Meeting in San Francisco.  See the news release for details on how Dave co-founded the first reputation-based, anti-spam company, managed the first ISP to ban spam, and has continuously worked to protect online users as a pioneering anti-spam champion. (Photo by Franck Martin.)






2017 - Michael "Mick" Moran

Assistant Director, INTERPOL Vulnerable Communities Unit

Presented February 21, 2017 at the M3AAWG 39th General Meeting in San Francisco.  See the news release and acceptance video where Mick Moran talks about Internet-based child abuse material and what the industry can do to help protect vulnerable victims.




2016 - Rodney Joffe

A long-time and influential cybersecurity advocate, who has taken on work from fighting the early cases of spam to global anti-bot work and protecting networks from DDoS attacks, is shown here on the right conversing with U.S. President Barack Obama.

Presented June 9, 2015 at the M3AAWG 34th General Meeting in Dublin, Ireland
See the news release and a video conversation with Rodney Joffe on the changes he's seen in the industry.



Jayne Hitchcock-Chris Roosenraad M3AAWG 33 San Francisco

2015 - Jayne A. Hitchcock

Advocate for Cyberbullying Victims
Who@ (www.haltabuse.org)

Presented February 17, 2015 at the M3AAWG 33rd General Meeting
See the news release with tips on protecting your children from cyberstalking and watch the video of Jayne Hitchcock's discussion on this topic.




Brian Krebs 2014  Mary Litynski Award Receipent

2014 - Brian Krebs

Investigative Journalist
Krebs on Security

Presented February 18, 2014 at the M3AAWG 30th General Meeting
See the news release detailing the award




2013 - John Levine, Ph.D. 

M3AAWG Senior Advisor
and Founder, Taughannock Networks   
Presented February 19, 2013 at the M3AAWG 27th General Meeting
watch video of Dr. Levine's acceptance speech




2012 - J. D. Falk 

Long-time active M3AAWG member,
CAUCE Co-Founder and tireless user-rights advocate

Presented to J.D. Falk at a remembrance in his honor on February 20, 2012 at the M3AAWG 24th General Meeting. His wife, Hope Barrone-Falk, accepted the award.





2011 - Neil Schwartzman 

Active M3AAWG member, CAUCE Executive Director,
and industry contributor

Presented June 8, 2011 at the M3AAWG 22nd General Meeting. 
Watch a video describing Neil Schwartzman's accomplishments