Skip to Content

Media Center

Founded in 2004 and headquartered in San Francisco, Calif., the Messaging, Malware and Mobile Anti-Abuse Working Group (M3AAWG) is where the messaging industry comes together to work against bots, malware, spam, viruses, denial-of-service attacks and other online exploitation.  M3AAWG represents more than one billion mailboxes from some of the largest network operators worldwide.  It leverages the depth and experience of its global membership to tackle abuse on existing networks and new emerging services through technology, collaboration and public policy. It also educates global policy makers on the technical and operational issues related to online abuse and messaging.  M3AAWG is driven by market needs and supported by major network operators and messaging providers.

M3AAWG Leadership

Jerry Upton, M3AAWG Executive Director
Jerry Upton, M3AAWG Executive DirectorJerry Upton has served as M3AAWG Executive Director since the organization's founding in 2004. Previously, in his more than twenty years experience at Motorola, he held executive positions in standards, software and mobile phone products, alliance management and business development. Mr. Upton was also the founding Chairman of the Open Mobile Alliance, a mobile standardization forum, and he also currently serves as the Chair of a TIA Engineering Committee.

Chris Roosenraad, M3AAWG Chairman (Time Warner Cable)
Chris Roosenraad, M3AAWG Co-ChairmanServing his third term as M3AAWG Chairman, Chris Roosenraad is Director of Systems Engineering at Time Warner Cable with over 17 years of ISP experience, having worked for carriers in the U.S., Europe and Asia.  He has also served multiple terms as a co-vice chairman of the Messaging, Malware and Mobile Anti-Abuse Working Group and as co-chair of the M3AAWG Program Committee, which is responsible for organizing the three M3AAWG meetings each year.  Previously, he served as chair of the M3AAWG Technical Committee.  Mr. Roosenraad has been involved in various computer vendor advisory boards and is active in other industry organizations.

Michael Adkins, M3AAWG Co-Vice Chairman (Facebook)

Michael Adkins, M3AAWG Co-Vice ChairmanMichael Adkins became involved with M3AAWG while at AOL where he worked on email authentication and reputation issues.  Over the years he has contributed to several email and sender related best practices in M3AAWG and has chaired the M3AAWG Technical Committee.  Adkins has been actively involved in developing and educating the industry on important technologies to safeguard end-users, including DKIM and DMARC implementation. He currently is a messaging integrity engineer at Facebook and is serving his third term as a Vice Chairman.

Alex Bobotek, M3AAWG Co-Vice Chairman (AT&T)
Alex Bobotek is Co-Vice Chairman of the Messaging, Malware and Mobile Anti-Abuse Working Group (M3AAWG) and is also co-chair of the M3AAWG Voice and Telephony Abuse SIG.  Previously, he served as M3AAWG Co-Chairman for two years and also was co-chair of the organization’s wireless special interest group, the M3AAWG WSIG, which has been specifically focused on fighting abuse of mobile services.  Professionally, Mr. Bobotek is AT&T Labs’ Lead of Messaging Anti-Abuse Architecture and Strategy.  He has over 18 years experience in mobile data services, and has led and participated in several industry-wide mobile data initiatives and standards groups in other industry organizations.

Jerome Cudelou, M3AAWG Vice-Chairman (Orange)

Jerome Cudelou, M3AAWG Co-Vice ChairmanWith experience ranging from telephony over IP to email and cloud services, Jerome Cudelou has served in various engineering and marketing positions at Orange S.A., a French multinational telecommunications company, for over 17 years.  He joined the company as a R&D engineer on fax and telephony over IP services and has served as a project manager on smart home services.  He is currently a marketing project manager with a special focus on security in the residential communications services group that includes email and cloud services.  Cudelou has represented Orange on the M3AAWG Board of Directors since 2008.

Michael O’Reirdan, M3AAWG Board Member and Chairman Emeritus (Comcast)

Michael O'Reirdan, M3AAWG Board Member and Chairman EmeritusMichael O’Reirdan is continuing as a Board member and Chairman Emeritus after serving five terms as chairman of the Messaging, Malware and Mobile Anti-Abuse Working Group, the industry’s largest global trade association working against messaging bots, spam, viruses, denial-of-service attacks and other online exploitation.  Previously, he was key in developing the organization’s Internet Service Providers Closed Colloquium, a M3AAWG committee of international network operators.  Professionally, Mr. O’Reirdan is a Comcast Engineering Fellow with over 19 years of experience in the ISP field and with public facing messaging platforms.  He chaired the U.S. Federal Communications Commission’s CSRIC III Working Group #7 that produced the first U.S. voluntary industry code to help reduce end-user bots (ABCs for ISPs), has served on executive advisory boards for several major computer vendors, and is active in other industry organizations. (Also see video Why the Industry Needs the ABCs for ISPs.)

M3AAWG 2013 Committee Chair Appointments

The committees are responsible for developing best practices and other work to fight online abuse. 

  • Academic Committee Co-Chairs Manos Antonakakis, Ph.D., Georgia Tech; and M3AAWG Senior Technical Advisor Dr. Joe St Sauver

  • Awards Committee Co-Chairs Tami Forman, Return Path; and Neil Schwartzman, CAUCE

  • Brand SIG Co-Chairs Mike Hammer, AG Interactive; and Franck Martin, LinkedIn

  • Collaboration Committee Co-Chairs Christine Borgia, Return Path; Angela Knox, Cloudmark; and Sara Roper, CenturyLink

  • Hosting SIG Co-Chairs M3AAWG Chairman Emeritus Michael O’Reirdan, Comcast; and Neil Schwartzman, CAUCE

  • Identity Management Co-Chairs M3AAWG Chairman Emeritus Michael O’Reirdan, Comcast; and M3AAWG Senior Technical Advisor Dr. Joe St Sauver

  • M3AAWG meeting Open Round Tables session chairs M3AAWG Board Member Melinda Plemel, Return Path; and Jordan Rosenwald, Comcast

  • Pervasive Monitoring SIG with co-chairs Michael O'Reirdan, Comcast, and M3AAWG Co-Vice Chairman Michael Adkins

  • Program Committee Co-Chairs Kurt Andersen, LinkedIn; Dennis Dayman, Oracle/Eloqua; and Len Shneyder

  • Public Policy Committee Co-Chairs Frank Ackermann; Chris Boyer, AT&T; and Rudy Brioche, Comcast

  • Senders SIG Co-Chairs Andrew Barrett, Vocus/iContact, and Tara Natanson, Constant Contact

  • Technical Committee Co-Chairs Henry Stern, Farsight Security; and Jamie Tomasello, CloudFlare. Area co-chairs are:  Messaging - Chris Barton; and Severin Walker, Comcast;  Malware -  Paul Ferguson, Internet Identity; and Maxim Weinstein, Sophos; Mobile - Alex Bobotek, AT&T; and Antti Tikkanen, F-Secure

  • Training Committee Co-Chairs Sam Masiello, Groupon; Vincent Schönau, Abusix; and Autumn Tyr-Salvia, Marketo

  • Voice and Telephony Abuse SIG Co-Chairs Alex Bobotek, AT&T; and Mustaque  Ahamad, Georgia Tech.

Journalists and industry analysts, for more information please contact:

Linda Marcus, APR
Astra Communications

For all non-media related inquiries, click here.